Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2018 Outback 3.6 R Touring
144 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just took delivery of a 2018 Outback 3.6R Touring. I'm here in Minneapolis. Wife & I were going to a restaurant in a nearby suburb. Just for the heck of it, I decided to see how the Navigation system worked. Well, it couldn't find the address. There is a hospital nearby, it couldn't find that either - and there is a mall with a major supermarket - nada. These buildings are at least 5 years old.

This car was built in mid February. The dealer told me it had the latest map. All these address can be found using Google Maps. It appears the TomTom map / database is 5 years out of date?

As a software developer I have some questions / assumptions:

The 'map' is stored in the vehicles RAM ?

What about the addresses? Are they also stored in the RAM, or are they acquired via an online database through the GPS?

I noticed a road that was closed - and it was marked with red, so there is some information coming real time. Is that through Sirius or the GPS or Starlink?

Thanks.

·
Registered
2018 Touring 3.6R
346 Posts
I've had a 2018 3.6 Touring since August. I'm not an authority on exactly how the Nav system does its job. But, I thought I would try to shed a little optimism your way. My Nav system has been quite reliable, and always seems to find my desired destinations here in Virginia. I do understand that I haven't tried the places you did.

I enjoyed living in Minneapolis from 2008-2015. While I lived there I had BMW's (Motorwerks supplied), and spent quite some time on the "Bimmerfest" web site participating in threads like these. Interestingly, BMW owners have a love/hate relationship with their Nav systems, too, and time after time said they wished BMW's had TomTom instead of the BMW system.

Hope this optimistic view helps, and that some one else can answer your technical questions better.

·
Registered