Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just bought my 5th Outback. A 2021 XT Touring. Overall this is a stunning vehicle, but there are some things I’m very disappointed with.

1. Subaru continues to use AT&T for Starlink. AT&T has, at best, spotty service in much of rural America. While their connectivity may be inexpensive, you get what you pay for. If I’d wanted inexpensive I’d have bought a Hyundai. Rather, I bought a top-of-the-line, fully loaded Outback. I can’t remotely start my car 50% of the time because AT&T shuns rural America. At the same time I have full coverage on Verizon. That Subaru still doesn’t provide better coverage options is unacceptable.
  2. The WiFi system will save WiFi networks but won’t auto connect. Even my cell phone with true 5G (Verizon, not the fake junk AT&T offers), this car requires I enter my pwd every single time. I even have outdoor WiFi APs (I’m an IT engineer so I’m a bit of a nerd with technology in and around my home) & my Outback shows saved networks but requires I enter pwds every time. I called Subaru at the behest of a Play Store comment. The representative was condescending & unhelpful. He clearly knew of the issue but told me I should wait 12-18 MONTHS for an update. Let’s see, $45,000 Outback & they can’t get it to auto connect to WiFi when $200 chromebooks can & do all day long? Unacceptable.