Subaru Outback Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of December's Outback of the Month Challenge!
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2006 Outback 3.0 LL Bean
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all, newbie here. 2006 Outback, 3.0 LL Bean, 137k.
In tracking down an oil leak I am fairly convinced it’s coming from the pan. I did stop about 75 percent of the leak by replacing the cooler O-Ring, but fresh oil continues to reside on and near the mating surface of the pan and the pan screw heads.

1. After reading the take-out procedure for the 2.5, it sounds like the 3.0 is a breeze since it appears no cross member is in the way. Can someone please confirm this is a more simple operation, just drop the pan and that’s it.
2. Should I use a gasket? What are some of your experiences? I have the Felpro on standby, but many folks have sworn by just using RTV. Maybe use a sandwich of both-?
3. If I do use a gasket, or combo method, will I need longer screws?
4. Any other bits I should consider replacing? I was thinking the suction O Ring?

I appreciate any responses you find the time to send.
Matt R.

·
Registered
2005 OBXT Limited, VF37, STI intake, 5MT
1,610 Posts
Welcome! The 3.0L (EZ30D, Revised) is a great engine.

You have done well by doing the cooler o-ring thus far. The oil pan, however, is fairly uncommon. Yes, it is much easier than the 2.5 pan as you only have a "little" pan to deal with, but there is an upper "girdle" that attaches to the bottom of the motor that could also be leaking. Extremely uncommon, but it's possible.

I would degrease (see: brake cleaner) the area the best you can and reevaluate for leaks. I'd also suspect a leaking oil sensor (just above the cooler/filter) or a weeping timing cover. Wind can/will get up there while moving and blow oil over everything.