Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Being off school and home with my children, I have started looking at Outbacks and I am thinking I need to buy one in a few months. I am looking at the 2018 or 2019 3.6 Limited. As I am new to this, is there a benefit to on year over another? Not just that the 2019 is newer and would have longer warranty coverage...

·
Registered
5,866 Posts
The 2018 had the CVT warranty extension to 100k, the 2019 hasn’t had that extended yet.

The 2018 also has a longer warranty on the head unit because of a class action lawsuit. So the bugs have been worked out, and it has the longer warranty on that part.

2019, as you said, would have a longer warranties otherwise (potentially) because it is a year newer.

·
Registered
2016 Limited 3.6R
258 Posts
2019 has eyesight standard if I'm not mistaken. If that means anything to you...

·
Registered
'18 Outback Touring 3.6R, '11 Legacy 3.6R Limited. '11 WRX not stock
448 Posts
Try and get one that has as many safety features as possible, you did mention children. The LED headlights are very good even to my 'ole eyes. Eyesight can be annoying sometimes but I'll never drive without it again. Good Luck with your purchase. (y)(y)

·
Registered
2018 3.6R Limited
184 Posts
I've never figured out what the difference is between my '18 Limited and a '19. Besides warranties.

·
Registered
438 Posts
Both are going to be great; there is little reason to seek one over the other. Choose the one that you like better after you make sure it was well maintained and any damages addressed.

·
Registered
2015 Outback 2.5i Limited, Ice Silver/Black
2,110 Posts
'18 had headunit issues, don't know if solved.

·
Registered
(Australian spec) 2019 MY19 Outback 3.6R CVT.
522 Posts
I've never figured out what the difference is between my '18 Limited and a '19. Besides warranties.