Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Currently have a 2015 3.6 OB. No eyesight (darn). We live in OR & do a lot of driving in mountainous terrain. 3.6 does great going up several mile 6%+ grades. Also when going to Yellowstone thru ID east of Boise the speed limit on I84 is 80mph. Car does great at those speeds & holds speed going up steep grades.

So my question is: Will the 2.4 turbo do as well? I'm not a mechanic but it seems to me that there would be more stress put on the 2.4 than the 3.6. Therefore putting more wear on that engine in relationship to similar miles driven. And also not be able to do as well speed wise going up long steep grades.

I've never had a turbo so am green as grass regarding that type of engine.

One last thing, we have owned 4 Subarus, so I'm a fan. Would appreciate an honest positive discussion about my question.

·
Premium Member
393 Posts
We have owned many Subaru's 2.2, 2.5 2.0 turbo,2.5 turbo, 3.6. The turbos excell in the higher altitudes. I suspect the 2.4 will be a gem. But the power delivery is different. I prefer the smooth, quiet, efortlessness of the 3.6. There is no replacement for displacement.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Own a 2015 3.6, no eyesight (darn). Do a lot of mountainous freeway & secondary hiway driving. 6%+ grades for several miles. Also go to Yellowstone & east of Boise the speed limit is 80mph. OB does great holding speeds up grades & at 80 - 85mph.

My question is: What would be the experience with the 2.4? I'm not a mechanic but it seems to me that there would be more wear given similar miles & type of driving.

I'm a Subaru fan (have owned 4). So would like a good positive discussion about this

·
Registered
1,356 Posts

·
Registered
287 Posts