Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Registered
2001 2.5L Outback (Base)
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've got a 2001 Outback Wagon, which just rolled over 317k. In attempting to fix a shaking wheel which I've been chasing for the last 4 years, here's what I've got so far (TL;DR below):
  • Wheel shakes at ~80 km/h, most noticeable at 115 km/h
  • Shaking evident throughout the car (hard to feel when I'm driving, but the passenger's seatback is constantly vibrating)
  • Shaking will stop if the wheel is in a certain position (forwards, and slightly to the right of forward. Gets significantly worse to the left)
  • Front driver's side wheel has play when grabbed at 9 and 3, whereas entirety of right side front suspension is tight
  • Loud power steering pump is loud
  • Steering wheel is noticeably stiffer going left, feels normal going right
  • Slight yawing back and forth when braking
  • Bump steer, highway wandering, and tracking along ruts
  • Steering wheel will try to force itself in any direction other than forwards when braking
  • Definite slack in steering wheel at low speed, again, when the wheel is left of centre
  • No noise whatsoever (besides whining from the pump and misaligned tires)

And here's what it certainly isn't:
  • Tie rods (outer set has no play, inner set brand new, play in FL wheel even when tie rods switched sides)
  • Lower control arm bushings (no play/leaking)
  • Ball joints (both new, eliminated previously noticeable play in that area)
  • Brakes (new all around, vibration always on)
  • Tires (rebalanced yet again, rotation doesn't do anything other than make my tires wear out at the same obnoxious rate)