Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2005 Outback R LL Bean 3.0 H6 w/ 5 speed sport shift
597 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm noticing a high pitched whine as I accelerate through the lower gears - it definitely corresponds with the rpms.

Seems to disappear at 4th gear.

I recently changed all the filters and fluids, replacing with factory recommended brands.

I did read some info that makes me think it could be coming from the front transfer case, but that's only a guess?

I don't notice any problems with the operation but I'm wondering what I should be looking at to prevent any future damage?

All fluid levels are correct.

This being my first Subaru, I'm still learning what's normal and what's not!

05 OB R LL Bean
3.0 H-6
5EAT trans.

As always, any help is appreciated!

·
Master Caster
2005 XT, Mildly Modified...2006 XT Limited, Highly Modifed
16,120 Posts
Did you do the rear diff as well? The drive-line can be tricky to diagnose sometimes.

·
Registered
597 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Did you do the rear diff as well? The drive-line can be tricky to diagnose sometimes.
Yes, I've got a new driveshaft ($480) and newer differential. Both were replaced and performed fine before the whine showed up.

BTW, no grindings on any of the drain plugs or filters and the fluids looked clean.

Rear wheel bearings are new. I've been all over this car and even swapped the engine out for a JDM lately.

I'm fairly certain the front wheel bearings are good too. I always check when I've got it up on stands for any wiggle.

·
Registered
2008 OB Limited 2.5i, Portland OR USA
6,156 Posts
....definitely corresponds with the rpms.

Seems to disappear at 4th gear.
These two statements seem to be contradictory.