Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm not a total novice, as I've owned 3 subarus. But, I really am confused as to why I have a leak in my rack. The car has been babied, and has very few miles on it 90,000 . Recently I had to buy two new axles for the front. Now....the boot on the driver's side of the rack is loose and has exposed the CV ball and they said that the leak is coming from within the shaft. Not to say that my mechanic is devious, but the question is....could they have pulled back or torn the boot and exposed the joint to the elements causing the leak? It seems that whenever I bring in my car for an oil change something more costly comes up in a few weeks or a month.
Anyway, regarding the rack itself. They put in some sort of goo to slow down the leaking. Should I bring it to a dealership for the $600 repair or local mechanic, should I have my original rack repaired because it has such low miles and where in Maryland or Delaware? And, finally, if I bring it to the dealership for new rack how long usually does the warranty for these things last? If I hang on to my old rack, can I have that rebuilt and where? I live in Maryland.

·
Premium Member
2001 VDC/SC One of a Kind
14,456 Posts
The rack end seals will leak with age. Its normal. They crack or shrink.

Cardone Remanufactured Rack And Pinion A1 26-2401 List for $370 but can probably be gotten for less. Labor is 3 hours plus an alignment with transfer of parts, the outer tie rods. New inner tie rods and boots come with the rack.

Cardone parts come with a Lifetime warranty with most parts suppliers but it is up to the shop that installs it whether they carry it over to you. You will have to check with the dealer to see what their coverage is, but Cardone will probably be their supplier.

Rebuilding/resealing a rack could run almost as much as replacing it. You would have to search your area for shops that rebuild them.

·
Registered