Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all, this is my first time posting here
I am officially done with any form of mechanic on my car, all they have ever done is destroy my transmission and 2 engines. on the engine in my car it began to make a knocking sound so i turned the engine off and got it towed to the people who said they'd hold through on the warranty on my car since i had taken great care of the engine. i got it there and they declared, apparently without seeing the rods, that the rods were blown and it was rod knock, and going to cost $6300 to fix. screw that, they avoided the warranty issue completely by erasing all the times i came in to check it up. since it was on warranty i had no receipts from them. after telling them off saying id rather scrap it then let them touch any part of my car ever again, i decided to rebuild the engine. oh it blew just before 30,000 miles, with good care of the engine.

the car has had the transmission rebuilt about 30,300 miles ago

I am a noob to this,
I am in school for physics, after changing from mechanical engineering.
i haven't been working on my car because ive been too busy, now that my car won't work it is bering only a hastle.
i do believe that i possess the capability to do this and it is not scaring me away at all. but first i need to make sure i have a good understanding of the process. thats why i'm posting now.

I need to order a rebuild kit and want to make sure that i order the right one. the engine came completely stock as far as i know. the link below is to a kit i want to make sure i could use and if i would need any of those options. i can take things apart and put em back together with new parts but finding which parts are the right ones is my hard part.

Subaru 2.5L 1999-2003 EJ25 Engine Rebuild Kit