Subaru Outback Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1997 Subaru Legacy Outback Wagon Limited 2.5L AWD automatic transmission
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
1997 Subaru Legacy Outback Wagon Limited AWD 2.5L Automatic transmission.
This is my first time using a discussion forum so please forgive me.

I have had the car mentioned above for a a few months now and as it has entered the summer months I started using the A/C. It blowed mildly cold out of the vent so I decided to have my mechanic charge it. After the charge the air was much cooler initially and it was the following day for a short time. Suddenly the rpm started dropping slightly and bouncing back and it felt as if I was tapping the brakes. It does this about every 2 seconds while the A/C is on and stops when I turn the A/C off. When its pulsing like this, the air gets warm very quickly. I stop and pop the hood to take a look and I see that my A/C compressor clutch engaging, and disengaging which is causing the surging/pulsing while driving. I also notice a clicking sound coming from the drier and I can feel the pressure switch on the drier clicking as the compressor engages/disengages. I unplugged the pressure switch and used a wire to jump the pressure switch connector and the Compressor clutch engages immediately, as well as the condenser fans come on. The air coming from the vents is just slightly cool now and there is no surging/pulsing of the rpm and the compressor clutch stays engaged until the compressor turns off as normal and then turns back on. So I'm wondering if I have a bad pressure switch, I'm low on refrigerant, overfilled refrigerant, and why the fans only turn on intermittently when the pulsing is happening?

·
Premium Member
01 VDC, 05 R Sedan, 06 BAJA EJ257
15,915 Posts