Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all --

Am new to the site; forgive me if this or a related issue has been discussed already. I'm looking for some advice from someone who's been around the block with a used Subaru longer than I have.

As briefly as I can: I bought a 2003 Subaru Outback with 95K miles in August for $6800 on Long Island, NYC. (I live in Manhattan.) I took it to a mechanic prior to purchase -- he told me it had an oil leak from the valve cover gaskets, not a big deal ($150, he said). So I went through with the purchase. But his assessment turned out to be very selective. The car was rumbling big-time; he had assured me it was "just these old cars where everything's mechanical not electronic" but in fact my exhaust pipe needed to be patched up ($150) and a new CV axle put in ($230). (Shows you how experienced I was before purchase -- I am new to car ownership and am learning as I go.) And the oil leak, according to two other mechanics, turns out to be from the head gaskets, not the valve covers ($2000-2500). Add to this a persistent squeak at low speed that started days after I bought the car (one Subaru dealer incorrectly diagnosed it as the sway bar links ($140), and another is now saying it's the rear arm bushings ($575). This latter Subaru dealer has of course discovered some new issues (worn and leaking shocks and mounts in the back, $600) as well.)