Subaru Outback Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
2003 Subaru Outback LL Bean H6-3.0
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I am new to buying a Subaru, and used cars in general. I am finally able to move on from a gas guzzling dodge ram i was given years ago, and I have decided that i want to get an outback, preferably with an H6 engine.

However, h6 outbacks are rather uncommon around here, and the for sale selection is limited, and even those i would have to drive and 40-60minutes to just check out or test drive.

So i have a few questions about picking the right one

1. Is there anything I can easily look for when checking the car out in regards to wear that might cause problems.

2. What point should i rule out because of mileage? I know subarus are meant to last, but the lowest mileage on ive seen is 130k, and most are 150-180k miles.

3. Would i be better off with a well documented private used with 150-170k(Possibly with a new engine), or risk a dealer car with something like 130-140k

4. One listing has the car at 160k, but has a replaced engine only at 90k. But the engine was replaced because a previous owner never changed the oil. Would that have had any other impact on the car not pertaining to the replaced engine?

Here are a few examples of the outbacks i'm considering:

2002 160k ($6450)

2004 168k ($7500)

2002 130k ($7999)

·
Registered
2008 Ford Escape XLS - 2002 Subaru Outback
246 Posts
Go with well documented car. I'd be worried about buying a car that the owner neglected to do a simple oil change, who knows whatelse wasn't done. Check for uneven tire wear (suspention) make sure it shifts smooth (transmission) check below the car for any rust and listen to the engine for any slapping or ticking noises. Don't worry to much about the mileage.

·
Registered
2002 Subaru Outback H6 L.L.Bean
298 Posts