Subaru Outback Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2008 Outback XT 2.5 turbo
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey y’all, I’ve been out of the Subaru gang since 2009 but I’m thrilled to say I just recently picked up a 2008 Outback XT! Unfortunately I bought it with an airbag light on figuring that it was something simple and I could fix it easily being that I’m a mechanic. Well I’m officially at my wits end with this airbag light. After doing some diagnostic with the big fancy scan tool, I’ve found that nothing SRS related on the passenger side works (occupancy detector, seatbelt pretensioner,seatbelt buckle,side curtain, passenger airbag on/off light)and all show a fault in the scan tool. In my years as a mechanic I’ve never seen anything like this. The scan tool can communicate with the module and clear the faults but they return immediately. I pulled up the carpet and spent about 2 hours checking continuity through the wires going from the module to the various components and all wires I’ve checked so far have been good. I’m at a complete loss and really hoping somebody on here has seen something similar to this in these cars. Thank y’all in advance for any insight!

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for the response cash, I replaced that whole dome light assembly 2 days ago ($100 for the part from dealer) because the airbag on/off light was really dim. Unfortunately, it didn’t resolve the issue.

·
On the Super Mod Squad
2002 3.0 VDC Wag + 2018 2.5 Leg Ltd
27,163 Posts

·
Premium Member
01 VDC, 05 R Sedan, 06 BAJA EJ257
16,464 Posts