Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2001 Outback 2.5L H4 PFI SOHC AWD Wagon
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My 01 Outback is running rough narrowing it down and found that my Idle Air Control Valve is dirty, any sure fire ways of cleaning it? I am getting a P0172 code bank 1 Fuel trim malfunction too rich. I already changed the plugs, wires, fuel filter and air cleaner.

Thanks
Kevin

·
Registered
2013 & 2014 Outback
272 Posts
I have no experience with Subaru Idle control valve but on my old Volvo I was told to spray the little gate valve with carb cleaner and use a Q tip. Clean as well as you can until the little gate valve moves easily. Then take a drop or two of Automatic Transmission fluid and lube between the housing and the OD of the gate valve. It worked very well on my old volvo.

·
Registered
2003 OB 2.5L AT
66 Posts
on a 2003 OB, the IACV is on the driver side of the Throttle body. There are 2 screws holding it. There is also an electrical connector to it. Make sure car ignition is off.
You can do a youtube search of how to clean the IACV on subarus or you can look up an online parts store to get an idea where it is.

You will need a short #2 philips screw driver, preferably magnetic or new tip, rags and MAF cleaner. Loosen the 2 philipps screws holding it, put a rag underneat it to catch the screws if you drop it. You do not need to remove the electrical connector.
Remove the screws and pull out the IACV slowly and note the gasket.

Put a rag under the IACV valve to catch the cleaner liquid. Spray with MAF cleaner until the carbon build up is gone. Spray any area that you can get to. It should be bright metal on the body and black on the top hat. Let it air dry or you can blow with compressed air. Do not use the freon type air can normally used for computers.