Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 20 of 190 Posts

·
Registered
2003 Outback wagon AWP auto
3 Posts
Blue Ridge OBS,

I've had my Outback for 9 months now, and won't ever go back to driving a regular car again. I've got a Seamist Green 2003 Outback Wagon with the All Weather Package and AUTO. The options I have are: Automatic Dimming Mirror with Compass, Trailor Hitch, Tweeter Kit, Upgraded Door Speakers, Security System Upgrade, Air Filtration System, Rear Differential Protector, Wheel locks, and last but not least Leather Shift Knob. I'm a computer geek by profession, a Systems Analyst for a hospital. The Outback is perfect for my lifestyle. When I'm not working, I split my free time between working out, tai chi, mountain biking and roller-blading. I've got a hitch-mounted back rack from Saris. I can install the rack and have my bike mounted on the rack in about 5 minutes, which is one of the primary reasons I bought the Outback. I love this car and could kick myself for not buying one sooner. My last car was a 2 seat coupe. Living in the South in sunny Louisiana, most people think you don't need all-wheel drive here because we don't get much snow. Wrong !!! We get rain and tons of it all at once. I was really impressed the first time I took my Outback on a road-trip on my vacation. I had the Outback really loaded up with gear and my bike rack and bike loaded on the back of the car, and I still got between 28 and 29 mpg on the highway. Try getting that gas mileage with an AWD SUV. When I bought my Outback, I used Subaru's VIP Partner's program through IMBA. I ended up paying $1000 under invoice; there was a $1000 cash back to dealer rebate at the time. It was the easiest, most trouble-free car buying experience I've ever had, and the only way I'll buy a car from now on.

·
Tokyo's between my toes
2001 Wintergreen Outback 5MT
6,684 Posts
Something odd about Outbacks, they still handle well under full load. Maybe it has to do with the spring rating.