Subaru Outback Forums banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
2011 2.5 CVT Premium
189 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm planning a cross-country vacation/road trip in the next year or two, and I'm wondering how paractical it might be to spend a few nights here and there sleeping in my Outback.

I'm a nature/landscape photographer (hobbyist) and often need to wake up very early to get to a location before dawn. So, if I can sleep at/near the shooting location, it could possibly be ideal. Saving on a night's lodging here and there would just be a bonus. :29:

So, has anyone slept overnight in their Outback? If so, are there any tips or recommended products to make it as comfortable as possible? I'll be traveling alone and figure that perhaps I could sleep on the passenger side with the seats down?

Any thoughts/recommendations on this would be great. Thanks!

·
Registered
2011 Outback Limited 2.5
54 Posts
I kayak and have slept in the Outback plenty. I use a blow-up mattress and it fits fine with the back seats down of course.

Good luck!

·
Registered
2017 Outback 2.5i Limited, EyeSight & Nav.
565 Posts
I'm 6'2 and weigh 185lbs, and could easily sleep in the back of my OB, and plan on it. Couldn't do it in my '06 Forester though. Just make sure you take into consideration how your gear will be packed. Having a roof top cargo box like a Yakima or Thule box will really free up your cargo/sleep area and make it more comfortable.

·
Meh.
I has wagons.
12,388 Posts
Futon mattress or a light inflatable one, and they are fine for sleeping.

·
Registered
2011 outback,2.5 Ruby Red
209 Posts