·
Registered
2001 Outback. 2.5 automatic trans.
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello new member here

Hello everyone,
Great to be here and very glad !!
My name is Mike, my daughter just purchased her first car, using her own $!
She found an 01 Outback, i have never personally owned a Subaru, but have many friends that have.
They all RAVE about how they go in the snow, and how dependable they are.
Well we live in the Southern Tier of New York state, ( about 90 miles south of Buffalo) we get DUMPED on with snow, being my daughter is a fairly new driver, wanted something good. So far so good, she loves the Outback!!
I have just gotten done putting remaned calipers, and new rotors and brake pads up front. They seem relativaly straightforward to work on. And well built

Attachments

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Hello, im new to this great forum, & new to subsru ownership as well.
Well my question is...
What is the thing on the radiator top tank, just below the radiator cap?
Please see attachment
Mine appears to leak coolant! Is there an O-ring in there that could need replaced?
It has a 8mm hex in it so it looks as tho it can be removed. What is it
Thank you in advance
Mike

Attachments

·
On the Super Mod Squad
2002 3.0 VDC Wag + 2018 2.5 Leg Ltd
26,324 Posts
from your previous post:

this is a 2001 2.5. (vs. the 3.0 of the same year).

·
On the Super Mod Squad
26,324 Posts
and merged threads.

how many miles on that car? (presuming that is the original rad).

·
Registered
2008 OB Limited 2.5i, Portland OR USA
6,364 Posts
What is the thing on the radiator top tank, just below the radiator cap?
Please see attachment
Mine appears to leak coolant! Is there an O-ring in there that could need replaced?
It has a 8mm hex in it so it looks as tho it can be removed.
Likely a soft plug to protect against freeze damage should you use too low a concentration of coolant.

But the leak appears to be above it at either the filler neck or radiator cap, not this plug.

·