Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just recently bought a 1996 Subaru Legacy Outback 2.5 the other day. When I bought it I brought my friend who is good with cars but hasn't owned a Subaru before. Everything seemed fine, no dash lights or anything, the brake pads just seemed like they needed changing soon. Other than that everything seemed normal. Yesterday 30 minutes into an hour long drive home the check engine light came on and I started to freak out a little bit. It still drove the same. When I got it home I turned it off then turned it back on to see if it would come back on. It did and the AT Oil Temp light flashed 16 times then went away and the check engine light stayed on. It now does this everything like I start it. I'm new to Subaru and am not too mechanically savy. I've done some research but don't know what to do. My main concern is if driving it at all will cause serious damage to the car and if I should have it towed to a mechanic. Also new to the forum so I hope I put this in the right place. Any help would be very appreciated!

·
Registered
2005 OBXT Limited, VF37, STI intake, 5MT
1,553 Posts
The 16-count flash just means there is a transmission error code. Since MY96 is OBD2, it MAY throw a check engine light for P0700 (transmission error). You should still be able to have the check engine light read, but as @miker104 said, use the "secret handshake" to extract the transmission code.

For starters, do tight, parking-speed circles: does the car buck, shudder, or try to resist moving forward (or backward)? Are all 4 tires the same make, size, and tread depth?

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #5