Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to both Subaru (2018 Outback) and AWD in general. Trying to get a little more educated.

I've read several threads about the need for all four tires to be within a small margin of the same circumference, and that damage to one tire may require replacing all four.

Do all AWD vehicles have this requirement? If not, what is it about the Subaru system that requires it and what advantages does that offer?

Any info or pointers to info would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Tom

·
I simply cannot abide useless people.
2006 2.5i and 2002 3.0 wagons.
12,305 Posts
This is common for almost every AWD system.

·
Premium Member
03 H6 OBW & 06 WRX Sportwagon
17,835 Posts
all GOOD AWD systems probably have similar requirements. A buddy here at work has an old-ish Audi - same deal.

the system needs to be sensitive to wheel slip. So, if a wheel is turning faster than the rest , FOR ANY REASON, the AWD system tries to redirect power. On actual slippery surfaces, there is no problem. The systems does not 'know' you have lost traction, only if a wheel is turning faster than the others.

BUT, if a wheel is smaller than the rest, or the rest are 'detected' as small due to a larger wheel in the mix, and you are on dry pavement, the re-directed power can build-up as stress in the drivetrain.

·
On the Super Mod Squad
2002 3.0 VDC Wag + 2018 2.5 Leg Ltd
26,487 Posts
pretty typical of any AWD system,

if you want to run mismatched tires, drive a old RWD SUV or truck that you turn the fronts on occasionally for 4WD,
like when it can't go no more (such as when the ass end is sinking into a muddy lawn).

·
Registered
2005 Outback 3.0R VDC/VTD/LSD 5eat , 2.8'' lift
1,730 Posts