Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2005 Outback XT Limited 5-speed Manual Transmission
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My front axle needs to be replaced and my mechanic is charging $370. Does this seem high to you? I am a newb here so be gentle. Also does it really matter if it is genuine Subaru Axle?

Thanks!

·
I simply cannot abide useless people.
I has wagons.
12,299 Posts

·
Registered
00 Outback Wagon...269K 09 Legacy 2.5 Sedan...93k
201 Posts
My front axle needs to be replaced and my mechanic is charging $370. Does this seem high to you? I am a newb here so be gentle. Also does it really matter if it is genuine Subaru Axle?

Thanks!
Yes considering that the axle will probably cost him $75 or so(if not at the dealership)...and take (including break) about 30min to install.

Plenty of threads devoted to this.

I've had good luck with NAPA Subaru core remans. No funky vibrations and run about $50 or so.

·
Premium Member
03 H6 OBW & 06 WRX Sportwagon
17,950 Posts
seems high but, labor rates vary across the country, there are axles that range in price from 50 or $60 or so to , I dunno, over $200 I'd guess for OEM new.

also, is there any other work like an alignment involved?

from reading many posts, the best results are undoubtedly Subaru axles. Either new or properly rebuilt. many complaints with typical rebuilts. Either immediate problems or early failure.

·
Registered
2008 Outback 2.5i, 2009 Forrester 2.5 sohc
606 Posts

Thanks!
Find out if he is going to use an Remanufactured Axle from Subaru, thats around $200. Whats his shop rate? Around here its around 80 to $90. Book time is more than 30 minutes it might take him. If its a genuine part, 370 may seem like a lot, but he's not ripping you off.

I dont think you will find someone to do it for the $100 after market part price plus 30 minutes of labor.

·
Master Caster
2005 XT, Mildly Modified...2006 XT Limited, Highly Modifed
16,174 Posts
Denver Market/Dealer