Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
2000 Subaru Outback
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Trying to finish up my first ever timing belt job, as I am fairly new to DIY maintenance it has been quite a learning expereince. As I was getting ready to install the new belt today, I decided to give it a once over, and I noticed two points of possible fraying!?

Its a brand new timing belt that was part of a complete AISIN kit. I didn’t see anything like this on the old gates belt I took off, should I be concerned? Should I install this belt or try to return it for a new one? Thanks for your suggestions.

Attachments

·
Master Caster
2005 XT, Mildly Modified...2006 XT Limited, Highly Modifed
16,147 Posts
I have not seen that. It looks like the cordage reinforcement is not bedded into the rubber.

Return that. I would not be confident. Other can chime in if I am incorrect.

·
Registered
2000 Subaru Outback
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thats what I was afraid of. And I thought I was so close to finishing this up. I’ll have to get to work on the return process.

·
Master Caster
16,147 Posts
Thats what I was afraid of. And I thought I was so close to finishing this up. I’ll have to get to work on the return process.
How can you trust it. I have a hobby business. I make urethane parts for Subarus. If that was my part, it would fail my QA/QC. Even if it IS viable. It looks bad. It fails the eyeball test. I have been in design and construction for over 25 years. If it fails the eyeball test ... How can you trust it.

·
Registered
OBW H6 VDC, Tribeca, XT6
12,390 Posts
While I agree - are we sure that's not just the juncture point where two halves of the timing belt come together, I dont' have one in front of me but they all have one "seam" of some type don't they?

·
Super Moderator
2008 OB Limited 2.5i, Portland OR USA
6,707 Posts
Here's an easy thought experiment to give you your answer: Would you drive on tires that had such a visible defect in them?