Subaru Outback Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of August's Outback of the Month Challenge!
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2009 Subaru Outback 2.5i PZEV Special Edition
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, fellow Outbackers!
I just took my new (to me) 2009 2.5 PZEV Outback in for its government required Motor Vehicle Inspection here on the East Coast of Canada and the shop has informed me that the left front ball joint and right front tie rod is in need of replacing. This isn't unexpected but my question is should I bite the bullet and replace the parts on the opposite side as well (i.e right front ball joint and left front tie rod) or just do the required work? I do plan on keeping the car until the engine dies so I think I'll have it for quite some time. If it helps I'm a student with a limited budget so I don't want to do anything "unnecessary."
TIA!

·
Registered
2001 Outback Wagon 3.0 VDC
250 Posts
To be budget friendly I would suggest just doing the repairs needed, somethings on suspension are recommended in pairs (like struts and springs) but if only one ball joints is worn, replace that one, same for the tie rod, just replace the worn parts, the other sides may fail soon or maybe 2 years from now, who knows, by then you might be able to budget for those repairs when it comes instead of spending twice as much on parts now.

Others might say otherwise but that's what I would do with a budget in mind.

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
To be budget friendly I would suggest just doing the repairs needed, somethings on suspension are recommended in pairs (like struts and springs) but if only one ball joints is worn, replace that one, same for the tie rod, just replace the worn parts, the other sides may fail soon or maybe 2 years from now, who knows, by then you might be able to budget for those repairs when it comes instead of spending twice as much on parts now.