Subaru Outback Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2008 2.5 liter Outback
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I'm new to the forum. I have an 08' outback 2.5. 78,000 miles. It keeps throwing a cel, bank one sensor one. I'm new to the Subaru family and looking for any help I can get.
Thanks!

·
Registered
Somebody Else's XT
14,433 Posts
What code? Several of the SAE codes are divided into banks and sensors, but not all apply.

Post the code as shown on your diagnostic reader and we can try to help.

·
Registered
2008 2.5 liter Outback
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I wish i was the one with a code reader but unfortunatly i do not own one. The dealer who i bought the car from told me it was the 02 sensor "bank one sensoe one". check engine light is on but the car runs fine. if you think i should buy a code reader, wich one would you recomend? thanks for the help.

·
Registered
Somebody Else's XT
14,433 Posts
Hold off on buying one, but maybe take it around to the neighborhood autoparts chain- they will usually read out your codes for free.

It sounds like the dealer is talking about the forward oxygen sensor- the bank # does not apply since the Outback has a merged exhaust.

Get it read, post it here and hopefully you won't have to spend as much.

·
Registered
2008 2.5 liter Outback
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks Rasterman. I will follow your advise and have the code read at the local autoparts store and post with any new info. Your help is much appreciated!

·
Registered
2008 2.5 liter Outback
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #6