Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 20 of 73 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all.

I'm just beginning my search for a new wagon, and the Outback is at or near the top of my list. Once of my primary reasons for buying a wagon is to transport our dog, as he tends to go pretty much everywhere we go. I like the fact that the rear seats in the Outback fold down nearly perfectly flat, unlike Audi and some of the other wagons I've seen. However, I'm curious to know if the rear cargo area is TALL enough to accommodate a big dog, in this case our Golden Retriever. Have any of you Outback owners with big dogs found this to be a problem? My dog likes to stand up a lot while he's in the car.

Thanks!

·
Superb Moderator, ,
6,194 Posts
My golden 'Toby' fits just fine in the Baja. In the cab, or even in the bed! He's tall and around 75lbs. It's a great car for dogs. Brian

·
Registered
174 Posts
I sold a Outback 2.5i to a woman with two goldens. They fit fine. I had a golden up until August of 2003. She was almost 17 when we put her down. She loved riding in the car.

·
Registered
169 Posts
you'll probably have more trouble keeping the slobber & nose prints off the windows :D

·
Registered
174 Posts
Hey, blee... where are you? I can get you a great deal on a dog guard.

·
Tokyo's between my toes
6,696 Posts
I was amused to read on a great dane owners board, you know you're a dane owner when your car has dog hairs on the headliner...

:p

·
Kiwi Moderator, ,
1,142 Posts
Our 2 German Shepherds fit just fine (once they work out who gets to lie where).
GRANT

Attachments

·
Kiwi Moderator, ,
1,142 Posts
Our 2 German Shepherds fit just fine (once they work out who gets to lie where).
This is the old girl - who is the smaller of the 2 dogs.
GRANT

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
6,009 Posts
ottiehund said:
GRANT
Whoa! One of your dogs bears a striking resemblance to a young boy! I've heard people say "owners look like their dogs" but that's uncanny!
:headslap: