Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Being a newbie here I am not sure this is the correct forum to post this. Please forgive me if not...

I just purchased a 2013 Outback Limited (w/o Nav). I LOVE the car. However, I am having issues with the Bluetooth interface. I have a Verizon Samsung Galaxy S3. I have paired the phone successfully, get calls etc. The issue I have is when I have the radio on another band ( xm for example) I can't get the Google navigation commands to be broadcasted over the radio using Bluetooth. I get calls this way, no problem. The only way I can hear the Google nav commands are if I have the radio in BT/Audio mode. Of course, then I can't listen to XM when I am using Google Nav. Is there a setting? Am I missing something? Or is this just a lame implementation of Bluetooth on the car. I already know you can't upload my phone book to the unit (GRRRRR). Other than this I really Love the car.

·
Registered
474 Posts
That's an unfortunate byproduct of using phone navigation in an Outback. I've been unsuccessful. I've decided to just turn BT off when I need to use navigation. On road trips I have a portable GPS that I use instead.

·
Registered
557 Posts
my only other experience with a bluetooth enabled head unit is with an aftermarket kenwood KDC-X994.

i have a '12 premium with the HK headunit in the outback.

they both work similarly in that if i wanted to hear turn-by-turn nav over the speaker i would have to have the headunits in bluetooth mode.

it wasn't a big deal because i was 99% streaming music from my phone, droidx, over bluetooth anyway.

the apps i use/d: pandora, tunein and rarely iheartradio.

i have my wife's iphone4 now and use the mapquest.app because it has voice guidance, although i don't really care for it-lol.

joel

[edit] to add... when i would listen to the radio and was using my phone for nav the voice would come from the phone's speaker.

·
Registered
2,342 Posts