Subaru Outback Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey there!

I would really appreciate your help on this question. I searched for a prior post, but did not see one like this.

I just purchased a 2017 3.6R limited, and I’m loving it so far. I’ve been driving my truck for 20 years, so it’s especially awesome! Anyhow, the listing for the vehicle said that it had remote start, and I saw in the records where remote start was apparently installed by the dealer shortly after it was first leased.

The car did not come with any remote start fobs. Do you have any ideas how I can tell if remote start is actually installed? If it is installed, could I get new fobs? Or, is remote start something that is done the Subaru star link app via subscription?

Thank you very much!!

·
Registered
9,504 Posts
By the 2017 model, the long range remote was available... you should have a small antenna in the top left corner of the front windshield if it has that.... then you’d need the remotes.

If it has the previous version, the remote start just used the regular fob (this was only for the push start keyless cars).

try the procedure in the owners manual. See if it works.

·
Registered
2017 2.5i Premium Lapis Blue
4,751 Posts
Looks like @walker covered it pretty thoroughly. If the records show remote actually being installed by the dealer it should have the antenna on the windshield which looks something like this picture I randomly pulled from the interwebs:

That one would need the separate remotes and I have no idea what would be needed to make it work as far as programming new ones. If the antenna isn't there it may have been removed before it was turned back in at the end of the lease since it sounds like it may have been installed after the initial lease deal.

·
Registered
9,504 Posts