Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
MY BRAKE PEDAL DOSEN'T GRAB UNTIL ALMOST TO THE FLOOR. I ALSO NOTICED THAT MY E-BRAKE PULLS ALL THE WAY UP & DOES NOT KEEP THE CAR FROM MOVING. COULD I HAVE BROKEN CABLE? I JUST PUT NEW PADS ON THE FRONT A FEW DAYS AGO & NEW ONES ON THE BACK LAST YEAR. COULD IT BE AS EASY AS HAVING AIR IN THE LINES? HOW DOES THAT HAPPEN. I READ HOW THE CALIPERS WORK IN PAIRS, DIAGONALLY FROM EACH OTHER & IF ONE SET FAILS, THAT COULD CAUSE YOUR PEDAL TO GO DOWN. DOES ANYONE HAVE ANY SUGGESTIONS? THANKS It's a 2000 OB, Legacy wagon.

{Admin Note} Please refrain from typing in all caps, its harder to read and some internet types consider it as an annoyance. Thank you! :D

·
Registered
2,730 Posts
I'm not a brake expert, so hopefully someone will jump in, but it does sound like air in your system or a broken line.

This is a rather dangerous condition, so I would drive straight to the nearest garage and get it looked after.

·
Registered
1,262 Posts
The first thing I would reccomend you do is bleed your brakes. If you replaced your pads, you should bleed your brake lines. From what you described, it sounds like you didn't do that.

I can walk you through the basics of how to do it, but if you're not comfortable doing it, take it to a shop to have the brakes looked at.

The parking brake cable may be broken. To find out, crawl under the car while a friend/wife/someone pulls up on the emergency brake. If you are looking at the rear brakes from under the car, you should see the cable move. If the cable moves on both sides (yup, make sure you check both sides), then it sounds like it may need adjustment. Parking brake cable adjustment varies from model to model, but I can try to walk you through the basics if you want to tackle the project.

If you would/could, please state the year model/trim of your OB, it will help in providing directions.

·
Superb Moderator, ,
6,194 Posts