Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
2018 Outback Touring 2.5
122 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Forgive me if this has been posted many times, I'm a newbie and searched. I'm wondering if anyone is finding drivetrain longevity from doing a break in, 1.5k miles, oil change? Also, the manufacturer's recommendations for CVT and differential fluid changes (inspect) don't lend themselves to longevity. Does 30-60k drivetrain fluid changes and 30k brake fluid change seem about right? tia

·
Registered
2018 Outback Touring 2.5
122 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Those engineers work for a company that sells new cars. Guess I'll sleep better at night and try for CVT longevity.

·
Premium Member
2016 Outback Premium 2.5 CVT w/EyeSight+SRVD
7,248 Posts
Those engineers work for a company that sells new cars.
Kinda' impressive, though, how "those engineers" can design a maintenance schedule such that the vehicle will fail as soon as it is out of warranty.

Guess I'll sleep better at night and try for CVT longevity.
Sounds like you already had your mind made up when you started this thread. Your car, your wallet, your choice. Choice is good.

·
Premium Member
2007 2.5 L Obsidian Black Outback XTL
602 Posts
Kinda' impressive, though, how "those engineers" can design a maintenance schedule such that the vehicle will fail as soon as it is out of warranty.
Planned obsolescence. As an engineer who has done design work I can give you every confidence that it was not our idea to do that. That comes straight from corporate who want you to run out and buy a replacement vehicle one mile more, or one day after.. the warranty expires.