Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2009 2.5i Special Edition 4EAT and AWP
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Pardon my ignorance, but I'm learning about new tires.

I'm looking at possibly getting a set of snow tires for my 09 OB. Because it's an SE, it has the 17" rims with the 225/55R17 tires. Looking at that size for snow tires (and rims) jacks the price up significantly vs a 16" tire.

My question is, can I safely put a 16" rim on my car with snow tires and switch back to the 17" for summer? I'm assuming I can since the base OB in '09 had 16" wheels. I'm assuming there's nothing different with brake calipers, etc. on the SE vs the base.

Also, if I were to switch, what would be the best tire size to look at? 225/60R16? 215/65R16? Again, I'm very new to this, so I'm a little naive about the differences.

Another question, are (most) all 16" wheels created equal? What I mean by that is, if I buy a 16" rim with the proper lugs for my car, will most 16" tires fit it?

Thanks in advance for any help.

·
Registered
03 H6 OBW & 06 WRX Sportwagon
17,624 Posts
rims of course need to clear the brake caliper, but there is also an issue of 'offset' so, it's important to confirm both those parameters. You can vary a few millimeters on the offset, but if it's far from nominal, there can be rubbing problems and it can stress the wheel bearing.

most any recent Subaru rim with the correct bolt pattern will have an offset that will be OK on another soob IF the brake calipers don't interfere.

·
Registered
'18 3.6R Ltd
731 Posts
According to cars101.com, the 2009 Outback 2.5i came with 16" steel wheels, so the right wheels at 16" will fit. You need not only the right lug pattern but also the right offset and hub size.

I'd suggest checking TireRack's winter wheel selection for your car. Maybe they'll offer a 16" option.