Votes: 1 100.0%
  • No

Votes: 0 0.0%
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I searched the web for info on changing the starter on my car. Maybe because it was so easy there isn't much said about it but I thought I'd post a note about the fact that it's easy, took less than 30 minutes, and cost about $100 through www.autozone.com.

To change it, you simply locate it, which wasn't easy until I had the part to see where it was (I'm a novice). It was on the driver side rear part of the engine block, basically directly above the axel. I worked on it a little hot and have scars to prove it. I'd wait until it's cold.

First disconnect the ground from your battery. This saves a lot of heartache. Be sure to do it.

Next take the boot off the electrical connection and screw off the nut holding it on (13mm). The second electric connection snaps off. Once you've done that you can unbolt the thing.

It was a little tough to get the socket wrench in the space but there is one bolt and one nut/split washer holding it on. I needed a 14mm, and 19mm socket for the job. The top bolt was a 14mm, it was easy to see. The lower one is a nut and was not as easy to see or remove (19mm, a bunch of 1/8 turns of the wrench).

I found it was easiest to pull the unit off and lower it close to the floor and drop it rather than get it through the tubing above it.

You can put the other one in from above and do the reverse of the instructions.

I hope this helps future novice mechanics. I'm telling you it's not worth the $400 they quoted me. Get the reman part from autozone and do it yourself.

Jake

·
Registered
18 horizontally opposed cylinders of fury
359 Posts
Jakester said:
First disconnect the ground from your battery. This saves a lot of heartache. Be sure to do it.