Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Into garage 2 times. “Reset” Five miles later—- lights back on. But “ Nothing is wrong”. Surely Subaru knows EXACTLY WHAT IS WRONG. Perhaps one of their top notch engineers could give me a hint. Grrrrrr.

·
Registered
5,495 Posts
What trouble codes are they finding?

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Haven’t a clue, I’m a Nurse- work on people, not cars. The problem here seems fairly common for many years. Why no resolution from Subaru? Other postings show multiple approaches that are costly and don’t work.

·
Registered
Outback 2011 3.6R Premium
1,321 Posts
Catt modern cars are mobile computers and the engine check light is “set” when the computer detects a problem (just like a medical monitor sounds an alarm if a patients vital signs are not correct). The engine check light is not the problem, it is just an alarm to warn of a problem.

When an engine check light is set an analyser can be connected to the vehicle to read the actual Diagnostic Trouble Code (DTC). The DTC is then used to help diagnose the cause of the actual problem. Some problems are fairly easy to determine, others can take several hours or even more to find the actual cause. There are many DTC’s that relate to hundreds of parts of the vehicle so your specific problem may not be “common” at all.

If you can find out what the actual code or codes are that are setting the check engine light we may be able to help you find the cause of the problem.

Seagrass

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
My mechanic knows the codes. But found nothing wrong upon investigation. Again—- why doesn’t Subaru resolve this. I refer to the many “Fixes” that do nothing.

·
Registered
Outback 2011 3.6R Premium
1,321 Posts
Catt can you give us more info as I am not sure what you mean by “many fixes that do nothing”.