Subaru Outback Forums banner
  • Our 4th of July contest is live! Enter HERE for your chance to win a $400 Walmart gift card.
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Outback of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
2018 Outback Limited 3.6
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to both Subaru and AWD so please tell me if this is normal for a 2018 Outback Limited 3.6 we just started driving.
When driving and I take my foot off the accelerator pedal, the car doesn't feel like it is coasting freely (still in drive gear). It feels like the transmission/engine is holding the car back and gently slowing it down. It seems most noticeable in the 20-40 mph range.
Compared to other CVT cars I've owned, it feels as though it would coast more freely if I slipped it into neutral (which I'm not doing and don't plan to do.)
Everything else seems great, good acceleration and gas mileage in the mid-20s for mixed driving.
Is this just the normal feel of a Subaru CVT?

·
Registered
2015 3.6R Limited w/ES
3,814 Posts
Both of my Subarus, a 4EAT and my 3.6 with CVT, seem to have a bit more engine braking (without downshifting) than most other auto trans cars I've driven. I've always assumed that was because of the AWD system.

·
Registered
MY20 Subaru Outback 2.5i SE Premium Lineartronic
39 Posts
It doesn't seem to be limited to the 3.6 as my 2.5 does it too. I'm sure I'll drive round it eventually but it can make stop/start traffic a little less smooth than with a traditional set up.

·
Registered
2017 Outback Touring
275 Posts
I think my '17 Touring w/83k mi coasts really well. I kill my cruise hundreds of feet before stopping or turning and only shed 20-30% of my speed while coasting.

I was thinking the CVT has to play a major part in this, sensing no throttle, no braking, and knows the wheel spin, then "finding" the perfect coasting gear ratio.

·
Registered
'16 Outback Limited 2.5
6 Posts