Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2014 2.5 Outback Premium CVT 72,000 mi (previous: 2012 OB 2.5 base 6-MT, totaled at 73,532mi)
534 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
http://www.automd.com/tsb/bulletin_b346660/

Just got back form the dealer after they did the update for the "coolant warning light..." ECU re-flash. We just got the postcard about it this week from Subaru, that one, which ever it is.

I declare the dead pedal feel entirely cured. I thought I would have to live with this forever, that the 6-MT was such a low volume unit that Subaru wouldn't waste resources trying to fix it.

Here's how I know they fixed it. It all started when I continued to kill the engine 3 to 8 times a month when taking off from a stop, never learning the feel of it. I've been driving a stick for 30 years, and have never taken this long to get used to a new clutch, so I started trying to figure out what the heck was going on.

I'd been complaining about the dead pedal (1 to 2 second throttle response delay) for months; eventually, I carefully noted a peculiar behavior during a specific kind of idle dip when stopped with the clutch disengaged (repeatable by holding all 4 window controls up at the same time, while turning the wheel slightly, slowly back and forth until the idle dips dramatically, almost killing the engine-the power steering idle kick up cycle sometimes takes a second to catch up to the extra demand).

During the idle dip, the throttle is dead until the dip is over. I tested this dozens of times until I knew exactly how it felt. The ECU was not listening to the throttle at all during the idle dip, but gives throttle response back to you suddenly in a burst after catching up (by this time you have the pedal half way to the floor trying to get going).