Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK...I am a complete novice. We recently moved to Germany with the military and my husband is out of country...so I need a little help. The weather dropped into the 30s over the weekend and my 03 Outback didn't want to start. No sound when I turned the key. On third turn, it started. No other issues. It's done this for three straight days the first time I start it. I drove it to a shop and was told I need a new battery and alternator...no diagnostic printout to refer to. I read through all the posts on here for alternator issues and I'm not having them (so far)...lights not flickering or dimming, the battery/charge light comes on with key in position three then goes off once engine is running (and they don't come back on, no issues with speedometer. Should I order one now to have it installed or wait to see if other "symptoms" occur?

·
Registered
2,926 Posts
These symptoms are likely related to corroded battery posts or other poor connection. Once you get it to arc, it self-welds and the connection is made with low enough resistance that you can get some current flowing.

Try cleaning the battery terminals. Get a volt meter and measure the battery voltage right after you park it and after it sits all night. If the voltage drops significantly you probably need a new battery, although there could be a path to ground somewhere, so you should also look at the current draw from the battery with the key off. There's a spec somewhere for what is expected. (100 mA?)

Tom

·
Registered
16,967 Posts
do you know how old the battery is? If it is over 3-4 years old, changing it to help cure OR diagnose the problem is not unreasonable.

IF you eventually need an alternator or some other issue is discovered after the battery swap, it isn't like you dumped a new battery as, many batteries only last 4 years or so anyway.

do not go back to that shop.

·
Registered
847 Posts