Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just wondering if everyone goes to the dealer for maintenance or goes to a independent Subaru place.

·
Master Caster
2005 XT, Mildly Modified...2006 XT Limited, Highly Modifed
16,144 Posts
It depends on the car. What do you have ...

A new car with a maintenance package? Or a 2010 with an aging CVT?

Reactions: Midas

·
I simply cannot abide useless people.
2006 2.5i and 2002 3.0 wagons.
12,307 Posts
For what kinda vehicle?

A 2017? Depends on the work needed.

Either of the ones in my fleet? LOLno. Well, actually Kaylee had her timing belt done at a dealer when we lived in Chicago, because they were within $100 of the indy place and gave me a loaner for the weekend.

·
Registered
2017 OutBack Premier, 2019 Forester Ltd, 2016 370z Rdstr
722 Posts
Midas,

It depends. I'm a backyard mechanic and do my own oil changes, brake jobs, etc. I've changed out trannies and motors, wheel bearings, window regulators, etc., but I wouldn't tackle rebuilding a motor or tranny.

I have a 2017 OBW Premier which is my 5th OBW. Ive had one of each new generation OBW since 1997.

When new and under warranty, they go to the dealership for warranty work. Once off warranty, I do the work myself, or I take the car to an independent mechanic on issues beyond my expertise because its soooo much cheaper than the dealership. And you should too. Be aware that some issues will require a Subie tech to fix them, such as Eyesight, as Subaru is the only manufacturer using this system.

That said, there are people who either have deep pockets, or just like the security feel that it gives them, so they always take the car to the dealership. It really comes down to what works for you.

What I can say is that I have had very few issues at all with any of the Subaru's that I've owned. They are almost bullet proof if properly maintained and treated with respect.

Gene

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #5