Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
2011 Outback Limited 2.5
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Guys...I recently replaced my wheel bearing and after not knowing which was bad I decided to go with some science instead!

Hopefully this will help anyone else out with a similar issue.

Background:
I've had a bad wheel bearing for the past 5 months and the sounds finally got to be too much. I tired the typical grab the wire and shake it and after trying each wheel twice i have has no luck.
Calling the dealer they said they run it on the lift and listen to each hub with a stethoscope...really??

Well being an engineer I knew that the sound was coming from the friction of the poor wheel bearing...friction develops heat.

So one day after my 60 mile commute home i took out instantly my infrared thermometer and shot each hub.
See below:

Three wheels were around 122 Deg F - So That's normal

153 deg F...hmmm okay i think i found it!

Replaced it

man what a pain

new!

And best of all the noises are gone! it feels nice to drive a silent car again!!

Anyway hope this is helpful for you guys!

Attachments

·
Registered
'17 OB 3.6 , '12 OB 3.6 (Deceased MVA), '11 OB 2.5 , '11 Legacy 2.5
73 Posts
Hey nice job, and good pics !! I'm getting ready to do mine, on my 2011 Outback 2.5. Mine is the L-Rear, I've had an intermittent rumble for months now, but I think I will try your method just to confirm. I already have the OEM Subaru hub/bearing, just dragging my feet. I will definitely do it before Winter comes, and I think I'll also do my rear brakes while I'm in there. Thanks for posting, have a nice Holiday Weekend :)

·
Registered
'10 3.6R Outback Limited, 2zr swapped Toyota Yaris track toy, '05 AWD Pontiac Vibe
204 Posts
Thanks for the tip. So the wheels passed the wiggle test but did they all spin freely?