Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2006 Outback XT
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there, my 2006 OBXT, which I still love, has 107K miles and has been maintained well. I was sitting at work yesterday and got a call from the wife..."the car is like bumpy and there is a CEL and the Cruise light is flashing but there is no error code". When I got home and started it the engine ran rough, like a cylinder was misfiring. I tried going down my street and when the CEL started flashing I went back home and turned it off. My first thought was fuel injection system/valves but I am no mechanic and not particularly inclined so I really don't know. Then I recalled that on Sunday on the way home I filled the near empty tank at our local gas station with the usual premium gas. The car did not move again until my wife dropped off and then picked up the kids from school. So the car would have been driven approx 1 mile since the fill up when the engine starting "bumping". Any chance bad gas is causing this problem? If so, getting rid of this tank of gas and replacing with different premium gas is probably the cheapest first step? Any thoughts, recommendations would be greatly appreciated! Thanks very much.

·
I simply cannot abide useless people.
2006 2.5i and 2002 3.0 wagons.
12,307 Posts
CEL and no CC but no code is a paradox.

Can't really happen.

How did you come to the conclusion there is no code?

·
Registered
2006 Outback XT
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I am assuming that if an error code is not showing on dash then there isn't an error code. I guess that is wrong? But why wouldn't the code show on the dash? Thanks for the reply!

·
Registered
2005 OBXT Ltd Obsidian Black 5MT
1,079 Posts
I am assuming that if an error code is not showing on dash then there isn't an error code. I guess that is wrong? But why wouldn't the code show on the dash? Thanks for the reply!
The codes do not appear automatically on the dash.