Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2008 Subaru Outback 2.5i
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello all,
I’m new to the outback group, having just bought my 2008 Outback 2.5I a few months ago. After purchasing the car I fixed the P0134 (or p0130, I can’t remember...) OBD code with a new Upstream O2 sensor. The problem went away.

Recently, I started to notice a lack of power from the engine, especially when climbing hills and during acceleration. After having to almost floor the accelerator to merge up a hill onto the highway, an “oxygen sensor slow response” code was thrown. I drove the car a few more days after that, and it still felt fine, if a little down on power.

Today however, I drove into town, and on the way back, the car refused to accelerate almost at all. The engine would rev up and the car started a rhythmic cycle of accelerating for a second, then bogging down and slowing. It got the the point that I couldn’t even reach 25 mph on the mostly level road home. After this, I replaced the downstream O2 sensor and cleared the OBD codes, however the problem persisted. During a 10 minute test drive, no OBD codes were thrown, and the problem seemed to get worse as I drove. When in neutral, the engine had difficulty reving past 3000 rpm and the rpms would pulse and fluctuate while the accelerator was held steady.

Thankfully I live next door to a mechanic shop, so I plan on dropping it off on Monday when they reopen. In the meantime, I’m thinking it may be a fuel issue, like a clogged filter or bad pump. Does anyone have any other ideas as to what could cause this so suddenly?
Also, any advice for diagnosing the fuel system?

Thanks!

·
On the Super Mod Squad
2002 Pair: 3.0 VDC Wag & 2.5 Limited Sedan
26,193 Posts
what brand o2 sensors did you buy?

subarus like Denso and OEM. others may cause problems. (including data quality disagreements between the front / rear o2 sensors. )

@plain OM any suggestions.

·
Registered