Subaru Outback Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Outback of the Month Challenge!
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2001 Subaru Outback Wagon 3.0 VDC
60 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is just general head gasket repair information not specific to Subaru. I am a head gasket noob but I found this video really helped me know what to do to properly replace one--

part 1:

part 2:

The following summarizes his videos on this topic after the initial cleaning of the mating surfaces (my notes bracketed in bold post the experience):

• Spray wd-40 on block and heads to prevent rust [I used a spray bottle instead of aerosol]
  • Use compressed air to clean galleries and bolt holes
  • Use a thread chaser to clean bolt holes [I made a few by following
    ]
  • Spray out bolt holes again with compressed air
  • Degrease block and head-use use acetone (on blue towels) generously—clean gloves and no lint left behind
  • Clean out pistons with oiled up towel, making sure to degrease after if not done already
  • Don’t drop, bend or deform head gasket and make sure hands are perfectly clean [used new gloves]
  • Make sure you place the gasket with the right side up—the fire rings touching are the ultimate indicator [both sides had different patterns, and could only go one way, so this wasn't an issue]