Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Everyone!

This is my first post having just bought a 2000 Outback Limted wagon A/T a few weeks ago. I'm a WRX driver/modder who needed a "normal" car for a daily driver so I boned up and bought a high mileage (152k) outback limited.

I have a question about the transmission but first, what I've done so far.

Cosmetically and drivetrain-wise the car is in good shape but there's a few bits that needed some TLC right off the bat.

The 02 sensor was on the fritz giving an intermittent CEL so I replaced that and cleaned up the exhaust a bit as it has a bit of rust on it. I fixed some rattles with pipe clamps and heat wrapping and cleaned up the header flanges that were uneven with rust and replaced the header gaskets with new ones.

The throttle position sensor seems to bee on the fritz too (more on that in a moment)

The front passenger side axle oil seal (the one inside the trans where the axle attaches) was leaky so I replaced that having done it to my WRX recently. Easy job. I also replaced the fluid with new. Now the front diff gear oil plug is leaking, I forgot to buy a new crush washer so the thing still drips right on the cross-pipe like before.

The front right ball joint's boot was shredded so I replaced that last night, tried to replace the left side that has a slight tear but the knuckle socket bolt head sheered right off so I'll have to get that removed at a machine shop soon.

I seafoamed the engine which helped a good bit. Cleaned up the IAC valve which was pretty dirty, cleaned up the MAP sensor with MAF cleaner, replaced the vaccum hose to the fuel pressure regulator and replaced the cracked PCV hose on the crankcase vent along with replacing the PCV valve itself. I also went ahead and replaced the fuel filter.

Enough with the recent service history, here's my question.