Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just purchased an '03 Subaru Outback Legacy. I had been looking for a decent vehicle for almost a year now, I am a 2nd year grad student and I figured I needed something reliable as well. I live in Iowa, and we used to get a lot of snow, but my last vehicle was also awd and i felt like anything else would be a downgrade.

I found this one with just over 100k, almost spotless, no rust. Cloth interior, 2.5H4, 5-speed. Driver's side headlight needs some buffing out, but that's about it. I'll post better pics later on.

I'm new to the boxer engine, but experienced in other setups, done some mechanics in the past. Been reading some horror stories about the timing belt replacement and head gaskets, and as far as i know they've never been replaced on this one. I'll do the gaskets easy when the time comes, but messing with the timing?? Maybe left best to a pro? But it's pricey...
I have a squeaky power-steering pump, but only when turning tight in neutral or with the clutch in. I'll figure it out soon.

I am the 3rd owner, I'd like to keep this baby for over 300k like some of you have been posting about, and I am a car freak so I will def. take care of her. I'd like to do an intake/exhaust setup just to give her some more power if anyone knows of something good, haven't been able to find anything recently. Airaid makes a 'universal' kit...thoughts? The natural sound of the B4 is great though, if i could get a high-flow exhaust to amplify that just a bit would be nice.

Any sources as far as aftermarket parts/accessories? A few interior mods id like to make, trim, etc...

Thanks!! Los

Attachments

·
Registered
16,970 Posts
look for bubbles in the pwr strg tank while idling. Somtimes the o-rings going to the suction hose, or the hose itself, has a leak and it suck in air.

just do a search here for any system that is giving you a problem, if you can't find the answer - just ask.