Subaru Outback Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Forester with (replaced) blown head gasket in Maryland - cheap

A Maryland dealer is advertising a Subaru Forester with about 100,000 miles, at significantly below blue book value. I ran an vehicle history. (I don't see how you can trust a history printed by a seller - too easy to fake.) There were no flags, though it had been spent a couple years somewhat further north, where it must have seen some snow and salt, which could produce rust if it wasn't taken care of right. It seemed worth a look.

I'm not a mechanic, and don't know much about cars, but I would love to have a vehicle like that, so I went. I used a flashlight to examine everything under the vehicle. (A high ground clearance makes that so easy!) There was a little rust, but not a lot. There was also a small dent from what was obviously a very minor unreported collision, and a few minor cosmetic flaws. Nothing seemed excessive for a 14 year old car.

Except there were signs of an oil leak - a spot under the vehicle, and a wet spot on the bottom of the car. Also, I thought the radiator fluid was a bit low too, but wasn't sure, as I didn't look in the owner's manual. I have been told that most oil leaks aren't hard to fix, but everyone says you should pay an independent mechanic for a pre-purchase inspection, so I was planning to.

But first, since it cost me nothing, I spoke to a dealer mechanic, and asked about the oil leak. He said it had had a blown head gasket, which had been replaced, so the leak should be gone.

He mentioned some other repairs that had been done there.