Subaru Outback Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of December's Outback of the Month Challenge!
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2001 Subaru Outback L.L. Bean
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, first time poster but long time reader. I am a DIY'er for all of my cars and a self taught mechanic. Most of my experience is with RWD vehicles, and the basic maintenance on FWD.

I inherited a 2001 Subaru Outback with over 170,000 and have been freshening up some worn out (and Midwest rusted) parts. This weekend I tackled the suspension that was shot, corroded, and even had a broken spring perch. I swapped out the old with some new complete mount assemblies.

The rears were a breeze and went on and off without any issues. The front became a bit more difficult. My first mistake was that I only jacked up the front driver side of the car and not the passenger side with it. Broke all the bolts free with no problem, but was having a hard time moving the knuckle/hub out of the strut mount. I could feel tension but gave it a good whack. It broke free but the hub pushed outward with some force. I pushed back on the hub toward the engine and noticed there was a lot of resistance. I was able to attach some bungie crds to hold it in place without falling forward even more. This is when I noticed that front axle/CV shaft felt like it had popped "out."