Subaru Outback Forums banner
  • Our 4th of July contest is live! Enter HERE for your chance to win a $400 Walmart gift card.
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Outback of the Month Challenge!

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

Registered
2016 Outback 3.6R Ltd. w. Eyesight
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Subaru newbie here; bought a 2016 3.6R Ltd w/ Eyesight about a month ago with only 8K miles on it. I take it from reading this forum that swapping in a larger capacity battery would be a good thing. My last three cars have been Hondas (still own two of them) -- when the battery is changed (or has even just been disconnected for a while I believe) you're supposed to perform an "idle learn" procedure, which I guess is for the ECU's benefit. Is there something similar, or any other procedure, that Subaru recommends, and is it something an old shade tree mechanic can do at home, or does it require special equipment? Thanks gang.

Registered
2015 Outback 2.5i Limited, Ice Silver/Black
Just change the battery and drive. It will figure itself out. But you will need to reset auto front windows (in manual). But you should still be under warranty through 3 years, so I'd run what you brung.

Reactions: Doug Just Doug

Registered
'15 Outback 2.5i Premium
Are you having battery problems? If it were me, I'd see how well the current battery works before swapping it out just because anonymous Internet forum posters say you should. Save your money and change the battery when it becomes a problem.