Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
16' Focus ST; 16' B8.5 Audi A4; 06' Saab 93 Aero; 16' Civic EXL
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, fresh-from-the-oven newbie here!

Im very close to get my first ever Subie as my new winter daily. Before making the final decision, I just wanna hear all you guys thoughts on 3.0R's reliability and suggestions for what to look out for when buying a 3.0R.

So the car is a 2009 3.0R Limited with 89K on the clock, dealer is asking $11K which is ok to me but I will try to talk it down to 10K.

What I gathered so far from the internet is that the 3.0R with EZ30 engine is more robust than the 2.5L version with less likelihood to have headgesket issue. And how about the frameless doors, I heard the sealant tends to fail especially on the driver side door's; are the struts easily worn out? Im also aware of its drinking problem but what's the usual mpg you guys get from this engine tho?

Thanks a lot!

·
Premium Member
2006 Outback Sedan LLBean
625 Posts
I have an 06 with 112000 miles. Only things that have gone wrong were a throttle pedal and idler pulley. Had plugs done at around 80. No issues with weather stripping at all. I get 19-21 mpg consistently. Mixed driving. On treks to NC for mostly freeway driving I get close to 26. Sounds like you have a good car. Have fun!

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
2009 3.0R Outback
534 Posts
Bought a 2009 3.0R limited almost two years ago. I think it had 134k on it at the time and I paid $10.5k. Quite a few intertior and exterior cosmetic flaws.

I've had to do quite a few minor repairs...

Coil packs (rusted and busted)
Idler/tensioner pulley bearings
Oil cooler gasket
Fix wonky radio/climate display (common problem)
Fix overhead passenger airbag light bad solder joints (common problem)
Re-attach driver side door internal crash bar (common problem)
Replaced every bushing and suspension component