Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Guys,

This is going to sound incredibly ignorant, but I'm hoping to get some clarification on a few matters.

I'm new to the Subaru Outback world, and love my '15 Limited. I've been taking her to some hard-to-reach places over rocks, dirt, etc (with no cell phone reception). I'm a bit too nervous to bring her on sand yet.

What I'm wondering is: if I get stuck and there's no hope for me getting out (I know there are many ways to attempt getting unstuck - but for this scenario let's assume it's impossible) - is there a way for someone to pull me out with a winch or a tow from a truck?

I looked under the car (front and rear) and there doesn't seem to be anywhere to attach a hook to to pull the car. What have you guys done in a situation where you need some help getting unstuck like this?

Do you need a tow hitch?

Thanks!

·
Registered
'18 Outback Touring Dark Blue Pearl 3.6r
1,651 Posts
I looked under the car (front and rear) and there doesn't seem to be anywhere to attach a hook to to pull the car. What have you guys done in a situation where you need some help getting unstuck like this?

Do you need a tow hitch?

Thanks!
Both the front bumper and the rear have a square cover over the spot where you can install the tow hook which I believe is located in the compartment where the spare tire is.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for this advice re: sand! I do carry a shovel (though it's primary purpose is for using the 'restroom' in the woods).

I've always wondered... is the shovel to remove sand in front of the wheels and replace sand under the wheels when you get stuck?

·
Premium Member
2016 Outback Limited Titanium
433 Posts