Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2005 Outback H6 3.0 LL Bean
1,204 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey aftermarket GPS owners--simple question. What features of your GPS do you find most useful? I'd like to know what things, when shopping for a new GPS, you wouldn't want to go without.

I've been looking at them and don't know where to start...they all seem pretty much the same to me, and I'm a computer engineer.

I would be using said unit for both long highway drives and in the city when needed.

·
Registered
2009 Outback 2.5i Special Edition 5M/T
166 Posts
One "feature" that is often overlooked is operating system. In my experience, and based on feedback from customers (I work for a company that sells several brands, including Garmin, Magellan, and TomTom), Garmins are the most intuitive.

Different drivers will, of course, have different preferences re: features. For example, some people want (and will pay extra for) a system that speaks street names aloud. I personally prefer a system that just says "Turn right" instead of "Turn right on Main Street", largely because local names would often be mispronounced (think how "Saltillo Road" would be pronounced in the Midwest, and then how it would likely be pronounced in Los Angeles) and that would bug me.

Another example: I'm a veteran of the Baltimore, Washington, and Atlanta beltways. Gridlock is common on all three, especially at rush hour, and the most frustrating part of it is finally reaching the end of a jam and seeing that the reason for the jam was...nothing, or at least nothing apparent to the normal human observer. :3: In these situations, an FM traffic feed can be useful, maybe even worth the price of a subscription. But where I live now, in Nebraska, such a feature would be essentially wasted.