Subaru Outback Forums banner

Grum's 2001 Outback VDC (Finally got sound clips!)

Gen 2 
22K views 121 replies 18 participants last post by  Grum 
#1 · (Edited)
Hi folks, my name is Graham, just joined as I recently acquired my first subaru.
The previous owner had named it "Maroon Five" for obvious reasons, but because of the wheels I put on it, my co-workers decided to name it "Mrs Out-fire" haha.
Reason being i managed to find a set of incredibly cheap Pontiac Sunfire wheels which bolt right on with 5x100 bolt pattern!

I'm also gonna put it out there that I am a Certified Subaru technician, have been with Subaru for about 7 years now so I know a thing or two, not totally familiar with the older cars but now I have one so its gonna be a fun journey of ownership!

See less See more
#2 ·
Little bit of a story here too, so my financial situation was not great, my wife and I ended up giving up the cars we had so we were left with no cars, I opened up to a friend at work and he offered the use of a forester that has, this is not a permanent solution but an incredible gesture none the less!

Word gets out about our situation and another guy at work has this outback, its in bad shape but offers me the car for FREE if I can do the work to fix it, which I definitely can!
Not only did he donate this car to me but also had a 2003 with salvage title but in better shape that the 2001, so he then allows me to rob all the good parts from the 2003 to swap onto the 2001!
Incredible generosity for which we are super grateful for!

So this I've done so far include:
Replaced front brake rotors pads calipers and brackets (because the 2003 calipers won't fit onto 2001 brackets).
The 2001 suffered the notorious rear subframe rot so swapped the entire rear subframe from the 2003 including both rear struts, all the rear brakes and a slightly thicker sway bar, but keeping the rear diff and axles as the 2003 was non VDC and part numbers are different.