Subaru Outback Forums banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
97 Legacy Outback AWD 2.5L automatic ~ 166k miles
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My 97 outback AWD has been shifting hard between first and second. Lags downshifting from 2nd to 1st somewhat, too.

Weird thing is only happens when I am accelerating lightly. If I accelerate hard, it seems to shift pretty smoothly.

ATF level is fine. Fluid does not seem burned.

I'm a pretty competent shadetree mechanic, but this is my first AWD car, so I don't know much about chasing down problems with AWDs. I've heard about varying front and rear tire treads affecting the trans, but I have no idea what the tolerances are.

Any ideas would be appreciated.

Automatic transmission, 2/5L

·
Registered
2017 OutBack Premier, 2019 Forester Ltd, 2016 370z Rdstr
724 Posts
The tread difference is one quarter of an inch in diameter. All the tires need to be within this measurement of each other, or damage is done.

As for the tranny hard shifts, maybe its time for a tranny fluid change and possibly an additive designed to clean up the seals and valves?

·
Registered
2014 OBW 3.6R Limited, 1997 OBW 2.5L Auto (sold, but not forgotten), and 1991 Ford F150
1,525 Posts

·
Registered
2005 Outback 2.5i - Auto
98 Posts
My 98 acts the same way, Flushing of the fluid made no differance in my case.

I believe I read somewhere that this can be caused by a failed dropping resistor.

Honestly it doesnt bother me so I havent tried to fix it besides the fluid change (which I would have done anyways).

·
Registered
98 obw 2.5dohc..auto & 99 obw 2.5dohc...auto
147 Posts
I've got the same issue. I changed the fluid and it helped for awhile, but I think I'm gonna try an additive. Either Lucas or the Trans-x(I think?). Anyways, let you know how it goes.

·
Registered
01 Outback H6 VDC, 97 GT wgn w/ ej22, 98 OBW w/ej22
1,401 Posts