Subaru Outback Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all, I came from the wold of big trucks and fast cars, but I'm no mechanic. I was looking for a cai for my 2011 2.5 and didn't see one. Making one, complete with air deflector/heat shield would be easy enough, just not sure it matters. Has anyone done this? Pics?

·
Registered
453 Posts
If you do some research here on this forum (and other subaru forums) you'll see that the Subaru is one of the few vehicles which already has about the best intake possible. Installation of any CAI you can find will require you to do a tune or risk running lean.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I didn't have to research the stock CAI, I looked at the engine and saw it.. However, iOS read on it. The intake is not smooth bored and the inlet looks restrictive.

What Bradze posted is what I was asking about. I didn't know anyone made one aftermarket. Has anyone ever ran one of these for any length of time? If I was interested in a fast and noisy car, I wouldn't have bought a 4 banger subaru. I want to retain the gas mileage I enjoy while getting a little better acceleration.

So, has anyone used this aftermarket one or has anyone made one? Thoughts?

·
Registered
3,822 Posts

·
Premium Member
11,882 Posts
The only way to improve on Subaru intake systems is to reconfigure the tubing to pull air in from the fender area. You will get ambient temperature air and the fender and inner liner will muffle the noise from the engine sucking in air. You can change the "accordianed" tubing with smooth silicone tubes, then fit in the sensors.

I went to the extreme.

Attachments

·
Registered
3,822 Posts